Weekly Menu

Rent is due soon so we are on a budget menu the next few weeks. I get most of my idea’s from the Hillbilly Housewife$45 a week.  It is a little higher then that now as food prices have gone up, so I would say in my area it is more like $65, but still a great deal. This is not just dinner, her menu plan is for breakfast, lunch, dinner and a snack everyday. That is really not bad. when it comes to my budget recipes. She can feed a family of 4 or 5 on

Weekly Menu 1-18-2009

Sunday – Black Bean Soup

Monday- Butter Beans & Scalloped Tomatoes

Tuesday – Pork Chops & veggie

Wednesday – Tacos

Thursday – Hot Dogs and Veggie

Friday – Pork Stir-fry

Saturday – Breakfast for Dinner

If you have $70 for your food shopping then she has a menu that includes more meat, with food prices I would say it now is more like $90.  I use a mixture of the 2 and a little bit of my own and my food bill this week will be about $80.

Have fun feeding you family and enjoy every minute of them. Dinner time should be a time that you all sit around the table and share how you day went and discuss the next day and anything else that you may want to talk about.

Photobucket

12 Responses

  1. Thanks for stopping by my site. I sure know what you mean about having to budget your meals. We are trying to have a soup meal and a beans or lentils meal at least once a week.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I followed your link to the Hillbilly Housewife. It looks like an interesting, informative site. I’ll have to give it a good look on another day. I’m all about frugality!

  3. Some of the meals are great and others not so much that is why I use a mixture. But it is always good in a pinch! There are some AWESOME recipes there though

  4. I swear it gets worse ans worse. I am going to be putting in a HUGE veggie garden this spring hopefully that will help.

  5. I love the hillbilly housewife!

  6. Thanks for the tips on the venison!

    Your menu plan sounds yummy!

  7. No problem, Growing up I had a uncle that would stock up every season so when I saw your post I called my aunt and she told me. lol! Went right to the best venison cook I know.

  8. I always count on breakfast for dinner when things get tight. It’s easy to please the family for pennies. I think your menu looks tasty.

  9. And there is something about breakfast for dinner on a cold winter night. Makes me feel all warm!

  10. i’m going to try the black bean soup! 🙂

  11. It is so yummy. At least my family likes it. I do not eat black beans so I can’t tell you from personal experience, but my family dives in everytime I make it.

  12. Delicious looking menu! Hmmmm black bean soup!

Comments are closed.